Holiday Diet Madness!

Welcome Everyone! I hope you are enjoying the Holidays. The Holidays can be such a warm and wonderful time filled with family, friends, and… FOOD! The average person puts on at least one holiday pound per season that is unlikely to ever come off.

I’m not going to lie…. This, amount other things, puts me in a quandary about food. The reason I am doing a liquid diet is because my food addiction is out of control. I am in danger healthwise because of food. So I have to take drastic steps. However, as I plan my Post Fast daily diet, I am feeling conflicted.

The truth is, food is what tends to bring people together. Now you can eat healthy food together of course. But as Food Addict, I really shouldn’t have anything with any sugar or flour of any kind. Add on top of that preferring a life-giving, life extending whole-food plant based diet with a gluten sensitivity….. I’m screwed if I want to eat out or at someone’s house. Only cooking for myself at home really works.

Wouldn’t it be nice if the same diet choices worked for everyone? If our bodies weren’t susceptible to addictive behaviors? If our weight could be better regulated on its own. But with highly addictive food literally everywhere that short circuits our brains and faulty wiring in our bodies that cannot regulate hunger, fullness, and compensation properly…. What can we do?

Willpower is short lived… It isn’t about moral fiber. Most of us cannot make decisions all day and still always make perfect food choices. It’s usually about restrictive periods and then free periods. This leads to weight ups and downs which leads to us feeling like a failure. Why does food have to be so all consuming for some of us?

So since not all diets work for everyone, what am I to do? I want to be a fit and healthy woman who can feel confident and be able to wear clothes that actually fit. I want to avoid disease and cancer. I know when I am off my Liquid diet, I have to have a game plan.

Training yourself to have a healthy and restrictive diet is possible. It is. But then I think of some of my favorite times with my family getting to go to a delicious restaurant and not just have a plain salad and steamed vegetables. I love taking my Dad to eat and I love Asian food! But technically I can’t eat anything there! No white rice, no animal products, no flour in the sauce, no sugar in the sauce, no noodles, no soy sauce. So I may avoid weight gain by not eating there and feel physically great…. But I feel soooooo deprived to the core of my soul! I love food!!

So what am I getting at? I’m sharing with you that the struggle is real. It is to hard to pick between being thin and enjoying life! For me personally to be thin, I have to be crazy restrictive or it doesn’t work. So I need to keep strategizing. Those of you struggling are not alone and you will need your own individual daily diet that will need some sorry of balance or you will be miserable. So if you grab that pie or Christmas cookie don’t be too hard on yourself… You are human! Sometimes we just want to choose fun and enjoyment over weight issues and restrictions. The struggle continues!

Til next time folks….. Enjoy the Holidays and don’t beat yourself up if you gain that Christmas pound!

#diets #holidays #vegan #liquiddiet #thestruggleisreal

Leave a comment