First Step of a Long Journey

Welcome Everyone!

So I have been away from my blog for awhile. Have had a lot of crazy things happening over the last couple years. There are some things that have gotten really bad, and some things that are really brightening up!

Let’s get you caught up…. First off, even though I have been studying nutrition for a very long time I am still what seems to be a very high-level food addict. This means that no amount of head knowledge and so-called will power will ever get me off of the literal sauce. I’ll talk about this more in a minute. So the bottom line is I’ve packed on the pounds! I also had an extremely toxic person in my intimate inner circle for the last couple of years and that made things worse.

I was really ready for a change, so change finally came looking for me. I moved to a different place, the toxic person that was in my life is gone, and I’m finally getting a fresh start. I really wanted to get back into writing, so now I have written three children’s books and I’m on my fourth and fifth at the moment. So things are really looking up. I’ve been having some health challenges so now it’s time to tackle the biggest elephant in the room, my weight.

As I mentioned before I am a high-level food addict. Which means no matter how much self-control I have in other areas of my life, in this particular area I fall flat on my face. If you struggle with this I’m going to have a picture below of a book that I read that helped me realize a lot of things. It has amazing information! It made me realize I’m not just lazy, crazy, or just low on willpower. Even if you decide not to follow her eating plan, the things that she discusses will help you immeasurably anyway.

I did try the methods in her book and had the first success I’ve had in years. I actually didn’t feel that hungry anymore and my cravings and insatiable hunger slowed way down. I thought wow! But the problem with me is that my addiction is intense, and every morsel of solid food I put in my mouth is potentially a gateway food. So I did the program twice and ended up failing twice. I still think the plan could work for me in the future, but I need to retrain myself about food before I can do that. If you read the book you’ll get a better idea of what I mean. By the way that book is on audible.com as an audiobook and is really good to listen to in the car or on a road trip.

So what I am starting today is a very nutritional liquid diet. I know there’s a lot of negative stigma about this sort of thing. But, with my health going down the drain fast it is time to do something drastic. The concept of the bright lines in the book above talks about having black and white boundaries. I have to retrain myself that food is for sustenance and that for someone like me it cannot be for pleasure. I either have to pick life or I have to pick food. I’ve been picking food for a couple of decades now and I’m paying the consequences!

So come with me on this journey to lose over a hundred pounds. I’m going to be posting on social media daily. It’s going to be filled with pictures, and many reviews of products, then updates on my weight and how I feel. This is a journey that I’m looking forward to but is also a necessity. But it’s going to be one hell of a ride! Join me…

One thought on “First Step of a Long Journey

Leave a comment