The Value of Relationships & Work/Life Balance

Welcome Back Everyone! Earlier this week I shared with you how stress overtook my life this year and has made me very ill. While I am recovering a little every week,  I have learned some important things and have had a harsh reality check. My biggest regret over the last decade is the time spent away from relationships and people so I could be overworked and miserable just to barely scrape by. What made it worse is I have never liked any of my jobs, because they are not aligned with my passions and interests. This can be a hard thing to come by, a job that is something you wake up each day excited about.  We all have to pay bills right? But how many of us love what we do every day? Does it fill us with purpose and make a difference in our own lives and the lives of the people around us? We truly can make a difference no matter where we are and what we do for work, but today we often have the freedom and ability to follow our passions.

  • Did You Know? According to the Washington Post based on a 2013 poll, only 13% of all employees are engaged in their jobs and enjoy going to work. See Article

Often we take long hours and jobs that do not interest us to support ourselves and our families. Sometimes this is just a necessity.  But how often do we get stuck in a depressing Groundhog Day situation? I often have told my coworkers that every day feels like the same “stuck in a rut” day… everyday. I often do not know what day of the week it is, because weekends off are for “other people.” I have often worked evenings so I miss out on…. everything. Birthdays, dinners, parties, events, concerts, dates, etc the list goes on.

In the end, people and relationships are what matter. It is true that some individuals live for their work or profession… and relationships are not a priority, and that is their choice and they are aware of it. What I found in my case, was a rude awakening that all this time working long hours has left my social realm cold and impersonal. Relationships are mutually beneficial investments into ourselves and others! I have too often found myself having very few people to call when I want to share exciting news or need support when going through a very rough time. I have not been able to spend the time to invest in people enough. It can be hard for some of us to reach out and make those connections. Rejection and judgment will happen, not everyone will like us or return the connection.  But you know what? Life is fleeting and there are so many amazing people out there for all of us.

worklife-balance

So what have I done and can do in the near future to remedy this? What can you do in your life to strengthen your bonds with people, forge new meaningful connections, and have a solid work-life balance? The truth is that it will be a little different for all of us.

Here are some options:

  • Finding a career that is aligned with your passions that is meaningful and does not take up my entire daily existence.
  • Working smarter and not harder
  • Doing a tipped position that requires fewer hours a week
  • Making time every day for your family and friends, whether it is time in person or on the phone. Relationships need constant attention. Never take them for granted.
  • Live in a city that you can afford! Sometimes we are simply living above our means. If we cannot afford where we live without 2+ jobs and 2+ roommates… it may be time to relocate.
  • Every hour of Overtime is a Sacrifice! Our time has so much value that rises above money. Our children and family/friends are worthy of that precious time.
  • What else can we do?

I will leave you with this quote and a link to more positive quotes:

“Each friend represents a world in us, a world possibly not born until they arrive, and it is only by this meeting that a new world is born.” – Anais Nin More here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Value of Relationships & Work/Life Balance

Leave a comment